Participant Jen is crossing things off her bucket list, including…

Bucket List #31 – Learn to make gravy

I had LOTS of offers to learn how to make gravy, where have you people been? Kari Mitchell helped set this one up for me. I took up the offer from the folks at Open Arms of Minnesota. They are one of the recipients from The Breast Cancer Ride that The Tittsburgh Wheelers participated in this summer. For those of you who don’t know who they are, they provide nutritious meals to cancer patients and their families during treatment. They are really a top notch organization.

On November 24th I went over to their new building to learn how to make gravy. I was met by their executive chef Nick Collins who got me prepped with an apron and hairnet, no one looks good in these by the way, and after a thorough hand washing I went to the biggest kitchen I’ve ever been in. It was there that I met Austin, who is the greatest gravy making instructor in the world. I learned so much that day! It was better than watching Food Network and I had a great time getting to know Austin and learning how to make gravy. I’m the gravy master. Bonus, I brought some home for our Thanksgiving dinner the next day. It was delicious. Thank you Nick, Austin and Open Arms of Minnesota!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment